What to learn from the Japanese?

I recently stopped in Tokyo for the tail-end of my Honeymoon.  (The last of the trifecta, after Bangkok and the Maldives).  It was most reinvigorating, the experience likely enhanced after five lazy, sun-spewing days of rest and leisure on a tiny island where my husband and I watched our waist sizes expand in slow motion.  Tokyo is the model of top-quality, bustling city life, of which I am deprived living in the South.  What do I mean by top-quality?  It’s the lovechild of Seoul and England (when the monarchy reigned supreme).  By this, I mean it’s got the dynamism of modern-day Seoul with all its electronic gadgets, technological saavy, roaring economy, pop-culture blast and the manners of an afternoon composed of English Chamomile and finger sandwiches.  From the wrapping of pastries in beautiful boxes packed with miniature dry ice, to the profuse greetings of thanks by each service-person (cashier at 7-11, taxi driver) to the diligent restaurant manager of By the Sea, who ran after us in the street when we left behind a plastic bag filled with non-essentials (elastic hairbands and ear-wax scoopers), to the airline lounge attendant at Narita who located my kindle from the airplane from Thailand and walked it to me at the airline lounge, it all seemed surreal.  I marveled at the best features of Japanese culture: efficiency, courtesy and perfectionism in its customer service.  In a city packed with millions, to beat the population of New York per square foot, the streets were clean and free of the smell of urine.  Even the homeless man (the only one I saw) was diligently organizing recyclabes under the overpass.  If I had had more time, I would have explored the temples and the country, but I’ll save it for next time.  After this trip, there will certainly be a next time.

This entry was posted in Jelly Dragon. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to What to learn from the Japanese?

Leave a comment