What about your fur-child?

On a recent trip to New York, sitting in the back of a yellow cab, I saw an advertisement for an upcoming show about dogs and their mothers.  These aren’t typical dog owners.  They are women who refer to their dogs as children.  Listening to them recount certain idiosyncracies about their furry daughters and sons made me realize just how committed these women are and just how embarassed I might be if someone were interviewing me on camera about my relationship with my dog.  Because, well, Fergie is a fur-child.  And our bond runs deep.  Although it’s hard to admit, before my husband, Daniel, came into the picture, she was THE partner, friend, muse. 

But I never thought anything odd of our inordinately tight relationship until I caught my husband on tape, responding to a question for a pre-corded interview played at my bridal shower.  

Q:  What does she do first thing in the morning?
A:  Dole out kisses…(slight pause; bride-to-be blushes)…to Fergie (gasp)   

Despite that momentary and minor humiliation, I have to admit not much has changed.  I still love my fur-child a lot and she’s still the recipient of my morning kisses.  I guess I feel better knowing I’m in the company of others.  But I would like to know the company of more.  What about you and your fur-child?  Post a funny story:)

This entry was posted in Jelly Dragon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment